Tim Holtz Compass mini album…

This is what can be found on my drafting table this week. A Compass mini album , using Tim Holtz retro grunge paper stack. I have been loving all the time piece, gears theme lately and a few months ago while I lay in bed, came across this compass…I loved it and so after much thought, I felt a challenge…one being a more masculine type mini and two using up more of my hoarded paper stash and embellishments. Of course I love my cricut making it half the work for me by cutting all my images in one sitting. The cartridge used , My world for the compass is found on page #22. I also used my sister in law’s Robotz cartridge , and cut out various gears to use as embellishments within my mini album. I started with cutting down the 12×12 inch patterned paper to 8 1/2 x 11 inches , and with the remaining strips aprox. 3 1/2 x 12 inches I used tags, bags boxes and more to cut out some tags for the inside pockets of the mini. I also used some extra kraft paper to cut out more tags for stamping and distressing.

Tools you will need

  • Cricut/Gypsy
  • Cartridges = my world, robotz and tags bags boxes and more
Paper supplies and measurements
  • 2 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches chipboard pieces { cut on shadow feature at 10 inches}
  • 2 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches transparency/acetate { cut on shadow feature at 10 inches }
  • 7 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches patterned paper { cut on shadow feature at 10 inches, cut one piece with regular full detail feature to be layered onto transparency shadow page}
  • 4 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches red cardstock { cut on shadow feature, use to mat both sides on chipboard covers of the album }
  • 2 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches silver metallic cardstock { cut layers for compass, also at 10 inches using my world cartridge pg #22 , cut gears on various sizes from 2 inches to 3 1/2 inches [real dial size button should be on] using Robotz cartridge/ use Tim Holtz gears die }
  • 10 x 8 1/2 x 11 inches Kraft cardstock***
  *** 1 sheet of kraft cardstock, cut regular full detail feature of compass for front cover
       3 sheets of kraft cardstock, cut blackout feature for layering onto red cardstock on front and back covers
       2 sheets of kraft cardstock, cut out shadow feature, to be cut in half afterwards for use as pockets on patterned paper pages
       3 sheets of kraft cardstock, cut out tags in various sizes from 3 inches to 4 3/4 inches
       1 sheet left, I may go back and cut some gears with kraft paper, just because I want this colour combination in my album
Don’t have a cricut
  Cut out 10 inch circles with circle cutting tool or using a plate and free hand. Cut some circles in half to create pockets. Make tags with rectangles, hole punches and corner rounders….Enjoy this mini, maybe for fathers day, or a road trip of some sort, as In good scrapsaturday style sky’s the limit…or maybe you want some adventure, my compass says East all the way baby……
Leave a Reply

